Gayhusbands's Support & Help


The Gay Man’s Therapist by Angelo Pezzote


Your Weekly Affirmtion: The sun is always shining behind the clouds, even if grey skies is all you can see. ~Angelo

All’s He Cares About Is Himself!

Dear Angelo,

I am in love with my friend but he doesn’t feel the same way about me. In fact, he’s very self-absorbed. All he cares about is himself. He doesn’t even treat me good, but he’s all I think about. I can’t imagine my life without him. I need him. I wish he could just see that I’m what he’s been looking for. I find myself really lonely, doubting myself and questioning things. I’m miserable, thinking of hurting myself, knowing I’ll never be able to be with him. I wonder if things will ever improve for me. I’m so confused right now. I don’t want to end up old and alone surrounded by cats and dogs.

Signed, Sinking Ship

 

Dear Sinking Ship,

I’m sorry you’re suffering through this awful situation. The pain of unrequited love can be excruciating and the ensuing grief can seem unbearable. I’m so glad you sent out this S.O.S. ! And you know what? Your use of humor at the end (“surrounded by cats and dogs”) tells me you’re going to be okay.

 

In the movie Titanic, Rose has to let go of Jack’s frozen hand (allowing him to sink underwater) to get rescued. The lesson is that sometimes we have to let go of something we love to save ourselves. It’s better for you to let him go and suffer the relatively short-term emotional pain rather than drawing out the misery of not having him. Anything less is masochistic.

 

As painful as it is, every time you think of him say, “I release you and wish you well.” Then ask yourself, “what do I need to do to take care of myself right now?” Then do that. You must believe that you’re trading this relationship in for a better one. The Universe is already directing the right guy to cross your path at the right time. Focus on that new love to come rather than on what didn’t work out.

 

I also suggest you call the Trevor Project (a 24/7 confidential gay suicide & crisis prevention helpline http://www.trevorproject.org ) immediately at 1-866-4-U-TREVOR or 1-866-488-7386. I also recommend you consult with mental health experts such as a psychiatrist and a psychotherapist. It’s also a good idea to attend a 12-step group such as CoDA (Co-Dependents Anonymous http://www.codependents.org ) or Al-Anon (http://www.al-anon.alateen.org ) for self-care, learning how to keep the focus on yourself.

All The Best, Angelo.

Author of Straight Acting – Gay Men, Masculinity, And Finding True Love


Life…Who’s Helping With Yours? Did you know I personally provide one on one support by telephone and internet (Skype) no matter where you are? I even pay for the call (by calling you). And for you recessionistas, I have a special low fee for your first session by phone or internet Reduced Introductory Session so you can try me out. I’ve actually reduced my fees in general to help my clients during this awful recession, and have phone/internet packages and rewards to help you save even more! There will never be a better time to begin than right now. Details Next Event MAKING LOVE Thu APR 16 8-10pm LGBT Center Free (Donation). Want more Ask Angelo advice? Want to Blog, Chat, Connect? Not yet a member? Register. Missed a Natty Newsletter? Sign in to the Members Area at AskAngelo.com and go to the Archives under your Mailing Lists tab.

 

Feel free to forward this e-zine to a friend. If they like it they can join to get it free at AskAngelo.com Win a free autographed copy of my book as a raffle prize. Anyone who joins our newsletter list or refers someone to our list in the next 30 days is entered.

Join LIFE…WHO’S HELPING WITH YOURS? LESSEN YOUR TROUBLES http://www.askangelo.com/ 

 

Supportively Yours,

Angelo Pezzote, MA, NCC, LMHC, LMFT, RPH

Tel (917) 673-5003 Manhattan, NY www.AskAngelo.com 

 

Editor’s note: As one of the best clinical psychotherapist, especially within the genre of gay, lesbian, bisexual, questioning, and transgender issues, Angelo Pezzote can undoubtedly help you with a broad range of concerns including: relationships, anxiety, depression, addiction, trauma (abuse), sexuality, and gender. He is available by appointment in-person, over the phone, or internet (Skype), which allows him to counsel any of my support group members no matter where you are throughout the country.

Dennis Schleicher


Best-Selling Author and Support Group Counselor


http://gayhusbands.wordpress.com/ 

12 Responses to 'The Gay Man’s Therapist by Angelo Pezzote'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The Gay Man’s Therapist by Angelo Pezzote'.

  1. Clarissa said,

    Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful info particularly the last part :) I care for
    such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.


  2. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  3. Mike said,

    I am genuinely thankful to the owner of this site who has shared this impressive piece of writing at here.


  4. If you desire to improve your know-how just keep visiting
    this website and be updated with the most up-to-date gossip posted here.


  5. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I really hope to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own site now ;)

  6. Karla said,

    I got this site from my friend who informed me regarding this web site and at the moment this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative content here.

  7. Antwan said,

    I usually do not drop a bunch of comments,
    however i did a few searching and wound up here The Gay Mans Therapist
    by Angelo Pezzote | Gayhusbands’s Support & Help. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be just me or does it give the impression like some of
    the remarks look like they are written by brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting on additional places, I would like
    to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list
    of all of all your communal sites like your twitter feed,
    Facebook page or linkedin profile?


  8. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this subject for a while and yours is the best I have found out till now. However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the supply?

  9. Eddy said,

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am experiencing issues with your
    RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody getting similar RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  10. Erick said,

    Great goods from you, man. I have take note your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the best way by which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can’t
    wait to learn much more from you. That is
    really a wonderful site.


  11. Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a leisure account
    it. Look advanced to far brought agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep in touch?


  12. Your way of describing the whole thing in this post is truly fastidious,
    all can without difficulty know it, Thanks a lot.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

